PerkinElmer Informatics Support Forum
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Spotfire Database DataSource for Oracle
Topic Summary: Datasource Connection error
Created On: 10/14/2014 3:48 PM
Status Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/14/2014 3:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Kinetics

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/14/2014

Hi all, I try to open a oracle connection like this:

DatabaseDataSourceSettings dbSettings = new DatabaseDataSourceSettings(
"System.Data.OracleClient",
"Data Source= jdbc:tibcosoftwareincracle:@rw-pc:1521:XE;user=Spotfire;pwd=Spotfire", String.Empty);

dbSettings.SqlStatement = "select * from v$version";
DatabaseDataSource ds = new DatabaseDataSource(dbSettings);
this.app.Open(ds);

But I receive always an error:

{"Failed to execute data source query."}

Inner Exception: {"User input is need"}

Any advice is welcome. Thank in advance.

 3/8/2020 6:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


EAXEE

Posts: 9
Joined: 3/8/2020

dbSettings.SqlStatement = "select * from v$version";
DatabaseDataSource ds = new DatabaseDataSource(dbSettings);
this.app.Open(ds);

snaptube telegram web vidmate

 2/1/2021 3:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


MFS

Posts: 6
Joined: 9/7/2018

The first thing we should check is if the driver are installed correctly. Have you used the Oracle database directly in Spotfire before? If you go to Edit > Data Connection Properties > Add New. Is Oracle grayed out or is it available?

If it is grayed out you have to download the Oracle Data Provider for .NET for 32-bit and 64-bit ODAC respectively. You can find it here: http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/topics/dotnet/downloads/index.html

There is some indication that this might also work. The setting prameter "sqlnet.ora" (ORACLE HOME\NETWORK\ADMIN directory) for the database. Find setting "sqlnet.authentication_services" and change it to (none).

If you already have the oracle client installed then please make sure sqlplus works and the connection through spotfire will also work then.

FuseTalk Basic Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.